Mischief Managed

So I just now realized that the last post I made was in February. Oops. But I swear I have a good reason. The long and short of it was that I was just a tad busy and mostly lazy. between missions, training, and a whole month spending time facing off against ISIS in a valley, things got a little crazy. This will be the last deployment post, which is nice, as I am beyond ready tube back on American soil, drinking sweet tea, listening to country music and soaking up the Southern sun.

For those of y’all who have prayed for the guys and me, I must sincerely thank y’all. There were some times when our road was tough, when things weren’t the best. between minor injuries, sicknesses, and of course the hazards of Afghanistan, I truly felt the Father’s protection over us. We are all coming home safe, and it is a blessing.

I’m going to keep this short and sweet. This trip has really taught me just how amazing America is. Life in Afghanistan is simpler, but at times, I can’t help but wonder what the country would look like if it wasn’t in constant turmoil. The people are happy, but so small compared to others. I once shook the hand of a local boy. He was maybe 14 years old, and happy as could be on his donkey. But the thing that struck me was how skinny and underfed he looked. Afghanistan has the potential to be a nice country, it just has a lot of political issues to work through, and lots of conflicts to settle.

So this is the point where I say thank you to lots of people. I also am going to keep that short. To all the guys in my platoon: y’all have been a pain in the ass most of the time, and occasionally I like y’all, but we did it. To my family: I could not have made it through this deployment without your support and prayers. Between choppy FaceTime calls, care packages, and long periods of no contact, y’all have always been there. It won’t be long until I see y’all again. To my friends: Thanks for always being there through it all. for those of y’all that sent care packages, they were much appreciated. And even if you didn’t send me something, even just texting and talking was a great and much needed distraction.

So that will conclude the updates from the kitty litter box. Next time I post I will be on American soil, safe and sound, finally home.

God Bless!

Bulldog36R (former) out.

Leave a Reply

