The Working Vacation:

So apparently these updates have moved to being a monthly occurrence now. But I have a good reason for being this absent. And that is a mission. We moved away from our home base to another air field and worked with another unit as a security detail for them. It was by far the best base we have been to yet.

Unlike our base, which is still recovering from the suicide vest attack last November, this place was a paradise for us. Better food, better laundry facilities, and a bazaar (kind of like an afghan farmer’s market) that was next door to everything. It made the mile walk to that side worth the trip.

Not going to lie here, but I actually had a boring time there. They wanted a full time tech support guy, so that’s what I did. Now that sounds good, but when nothing was malfunctioning (a rare occurrence for me) things got slow. Besides climbing on ladders and rooftops setting up antennas, the rest of the time was spent relaxing… and getting my favorite item: food.

My job has lots of unwritten responsibilities. The best way to describe it is that I’m kinda like the underpaid intern. I have a job, but I also do whatever the boss has me available to do. So I got the midnight food. The downside was that I was working nights. The upside? I got an amped up golf cart to drive to go help get the food. So it all worked out in the end, and I had more than one buddy pretend to be a helicopter door gunner as we cruised around the airfield. (Side note: I’m pretty sure that the airfield set a record for the umber of speed bumps you can put in a mile. Super annoying to drive and have to slow down every 15 seconds.)

We finished the mission and packed up to leave. The group we were working for loved having us, and we enjoyed the time we had there. Unfortunately, we had to spend an extra night due to “bad weather conditions.” So we stayed the night… and of course it started pouring in the morning. So we left in a rainstorm, after staying outside on the flight line in makeshift shelters for three hours, wet and cold. Couldn’t fly through clouds, but bad rain is a go. We landed in about half a foot of snow… in a snowstorm. Yup. Couldn’t fly when it was clear, but totally can in terrible conditions. I’m not complaining, just marveling at the logic of it all.

So yea. I haven’t seen this much snow since I left Washington two years ago. And I’m reminded of why I am moving to the south when I get out of the army in about a year. I hate the late winter/early spring look and feel of snow. Ice covered by a little snow just waiting to try and assassinate you. And the mud. Everywhere.

Well, as soon as things start to speed up I’ll try and post more. but before I sign off, I would like to thank all of you who have supported me in this adventure. Between care packages and notes of encouragement, I appreciate them all. I sleep better knowing that I have people behind me cheering me on. So thank you all.

36Romeo out, and God bless!

3 thoughts on “The Working Vacation:

Leave a Reply

