Where’s The Oxygen Around Here?!?

Well. Finally in Afghanistan. This place is unlike any I have ever seen. The mountains that are easily visible from where we are at are the most beautiful sights I have ever seen. risingly majestically into the sky and showing the true beauty of this war torn country.

The living situation here is surprisingly nice. Enough space to feel comfy, but small enough where it feels like a small college dorm room. We moved in and slept for the night.

This morning here (like 10 or so hours ahead of the states) we ran a memorial 5k for some fallen soldiers we lost in 2005. So, not even having been in Afghanistan for 12 hours, we went on a run. There were prizes for the top finishers, so I decided to push myself. Not the best idea I’ve had…

Within the first half mile I felt the lack of oxygen in the air hit my lungs like a brick wall. Needless to say, the remainder of the time I was running, I felt like someone was slightly choking me. By the end of the race, I had finished first in my company again, and chalked up a third place finish in the battalion. So you can say that it was worth the pain. Then, the cold hit my lungs. It is November after all, and the weather here functions closer to my home state of Washington than Kentucky or Tennessee. I have never had a coughing attack after running, but the feeling is the absolute worst. Only time I have ever felt like that before was when I had a cold or some other respitory ailment. Not fun, but a reminder that things are going to be different here.

We got back and went to chow. As I have said multiple times, the food here is amazing, and I ate more than I probably should have. The only good part of this deployment so far has been the chow.

The desert here is crazy. the mornings are frigid cold, but by noon, it is as hot as any summer day. And as the sun sets behind the imposing mountains, the cold slowly seeps back in, like an unrelenting tide.

Well. Shit is going to get real here in the next few weeks. Do not be alarmed if you don’t hear from me. I am alive, just not in a position to talk. I promise I will return as soon as I am able.

Peace to you all!

Leave a Reply

